Nursing Scholarships


KYANNA Black Nurses Association offers scholarships to African-American students enrolled in a nursing program.  Applicants must meet the following guidelines:

1.Enrolled in a pre-licensure registered nurse or licensed practical nurse program, bridge program (LPN-RN/ ASN-BSN) or a graduate nursing program.

2.Member of KYANNA/NBNA (membership dues are due by January 31 of each year.

3.Actively enrolled in the nursing major and taking classroom and clinical classes taught by nursing faculty.

4.Cumulative GPA of 2.6 or higher

5. Submit an application for the Scholarship

6.Submit two letters of recommendation from nursing faculty (or you may submit one from nursing faculty and one from your academic advisor).

7.Submit a transcript from your college or university (official or unofficial). 

8.Submit a short essay (250 words or less) on why you have selected nursing as your career choice.

Scholarship applications and all required information must be completed and returned as a packet to KYANNA .  The packet must be postmarked by April 15, 2018

                 The deadline for student membership has been extended to April 2, 2018.

Send packet to:                                       

KYANNA Black Nurses Association of Louisville


Nursing Scholarship Committee


P.O. Box 3501


Louisville, Kentucky 40201 


Click here for application



Nursing Leadership

Outstanding Nurse Awards


KYANNA would like to pay tribute to outstanding African American and minority nurses who have demonstrated excellence and achievements in the areas of nursing leadership, research, community involvement / advocacy, long-term care, clinical practice, and nursing education.  Please take a moment to identify and nominate potential recipients for these awards below. Nominations should be submitted by April 15, 2018.


·         Licensed LPN, RN, or APRN

·         Minimum of 3 years’ experience in nursing

·         Exhibits excellence and achievement in his/ her nursing area


Outstanding Nurse Awards

                    Awardee will be present at our Annual Leadership and Scholarship Event